Live for Films

I've moved to www.liveforfilms.com

UPDATED: Sam Worthington talks about Terminators and Avatar

Posted by LiveFor on August 25, 2009

sam_worthingtonUPDATE: Avatar is now out so here is my review.

Avatar (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo) – Amazon.com
Avatar (DVD + Blu-ray) – Amazon.co.uk

Sam Worthington is a very busy man. He seems to have come out of nowhere yet he has managed to star in Terminator Salvation, Avatar and he is currently working on Clash of the Titans. He is also one of the contenders for the new Mad Max film and rumoured to be Captain Nemo in McG’s 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea. Collider have an excellent interview with him that shows him to be quite a clever guy. He got one of his friends to go around the recent San Diego Comic Con to check out the cool comics and films so he could approach them and get in on the ground floor.

When asked about the lacklustre response to McG’s Terminator Salvation he shows quite a bit of common sense.

It was dark. There is no humor. That’s what we set out to do. It’s kind of humbling the way that they describe your performance against Christian’s, but we have no control over that. We just have to do the best character that we can do at that time. And you know, there was a lot of kind of, you know, I can nitpick with the best of them, man, and kind of go down the list of things I saw on IMDB where they found holes in it and go, you are fucking right. If there was a big ten ton robot coming outside that gas station, surely we would fucking hear it! And I missed that. So I’m going to be a bit better when I’m looking through my fucking scripts. So it raises my game a bit, because now I feel like an idiot for not saying it to McG, you know?

 

He also had a good take on the Avatar trailer being released just before Avatar day.

It’s got a hell of a lot of hype. I read all what was said yesterday about the, about the trailer. I can see their point. But as I said, it wasn’t meant to be built for an Apple Mac. It’s built for IMAX. It’s built for 3D. That’s what he’s designed it for. He’s designed it to bring people back to the cinema. It’s interesting that he’s released that trailer, that Jim’s gone and done that, and then the next day goes and shows it on IMAX. One extreme to the other. We get the criticism, and then we get the rave reviews of what it really looks like in its own formula. That’s obviously going to get people to think and go, well, damn right. I’m going to go see this at the cinema. Jim has always said to me, he wants to bring people back to the movies. And he’s a smart enough man to, that to be tactical.


Check out the rest of the interview for his thoughts on Comic Con and more.

Be sure to check out all the other polls – Vote on who should be Catwoman, Spider-Man? What’s your favourite John Carpenter film? What’s Nic Cage’s worst film and many more.

17 Responses to “UPDATED: Sam Worthington talks about Terminators and Avatar”

  1. Pat said

    oh my..i just totally realized he would be a great captain america…dont u agree?

  2. Melissa said

    I WILL HAVE TO SAY THAT I DIDN’T CARE FOR THE STORY LINES OF TERMINATOR SALVATION. But I will watch it over and aver again to see Sam Worthington He’s a hottie!! “)

    As for Avatar I will see it because of Sam Worthington

  3. Melissa said

    Oh!! OH and I agree Sam Worthington would make a perfect Capt America

    Melissa in Indiana

  4. gail said

    SEEN SAM ON JAY LEON LAST NITE. HE IS SO SO CUTE.CAN’T WAIT TO SEE THE NEW MOVIE.

  5. Gyanesh said

    “He was planted as a mole but became one among the enemies he was spying on… and he then sides with the enemy in the war… bringing about the downfall of the people who planted them there…”

    Now this a description of two roles the actor “Sam Worthington” has played in two movies: “Terminator Salvations” and “Avatar.”

    James Cameron probably trusted Sam Worthington’s prior experience in playing this role. 🙂

  6. abee said

    GOSH!!! best sci-fi movie ever. everything was beautiful🙂

  7. sarmistha said

    i loved Sam Worthington’s performance in avatar… say what he rocks… he is amazing .,. and in person .he is so alike my boyfriend.. so more reason to like him … hugs and congrats for a great performance and a great film… all the best for future sam.🙂
    hope someone waits at home for u with a loving heart .. just like i do for my bf. cheers!!!

  8. honey lee said

    AVATAR was great! can’t get enough of it. I’ll watch it over and over again, Sam was really a hottir though .:)

  9. tyas said

    SAM WORTHTINGTON…
    your so handsome, I hope someday I can meet you, boy😀
    avatar, I like that film too…
    I’ll be waiting for the next film…
    must be SAM WORTHTINGTON again :D:D:D:D:D

  10. beatriz said

    oohh esta pela es demasiao wnaa a amooo a jake me enamoree dee tiiii erez lo mazzzzzzzzzzzz

  11. mawey said

    sam is so honest about things-thats what i love about him>> plus he cracks me up!
    dudes hilarious

  12. stanka said

    hi..I am slovak…i like avatar and you…very like..skoda ze niesi naozaj taky ako vo filme ale opacna ale aj tak ta mam rada..ako herca..si super..you is super:}and you is very beutiful:)..pekny:}..sexy!!:D

  13. melissa said

    i loved avatar movie. it is owsome.and ofcourse i loved sam worthington very very much.

Leave a Reply

 
