Live for Films

I've moved to www.liveforfilms.com

District 9 writer to make sci-fi film about a rock man being slightly sinister

Posted by LiveFor on February 24, 2010

Neill Blomkamp, Terri Tatchell & Sharlto Copley


Terri Tatchell is the screenwriter of Neill Blomkamp’s District 9 – they’re also a couple which is cool. Terri has been nominated for a Best Adapted Screenplay for this years Oscars. She chatted to io9 about that, Moon and the film she is working on next.

She was disappointed about Sharlto Copley (star of District 9) not being nominated, but also a certain film by Duncan Jones.

I was disappointed about Moon. I loved Moon. I thought Sam Rockwell was amazing in Moon. That one I’m definitely disappointed in. Avatar is definitely dominating everything, and it was an incredible film, very visually so. Star Trek was great. The Hurt Locker. I absolutely loved. That’s not scifi, but that deserves to be up there. I liked the Hurt Locker so much that I got halfway home from the theater and I realized I left my purse in the theater. That’s a compliment, that’s when you know you enjoyed a film. But yes, for science fiction specifically, I have to say I was disappointed Moon wasn’t included.

Her next film she is working on sounds very intriguing and the short she mentions is below.

The film I’m working on now is an adaptation of a short film called Terminus. It’s a bit more science fiction, fantasy. It’s about a stone creature that follows this stressed-out guy around, just stressing him more and more. It was incredibly well received, and the director that created it, [Trevor Cawood] hasn’t done a feature yet, and he’s really talented. I approached him about writing a feature script of that. It’s been a little more challenging than I expected it to be. I’m probably on my second draft now. I’m not ready to send it off yet, but we’ll see.


Not sure how they can turn this into a feature, but I do like the short film.

4 Responses to “District 9 writer to make sci-fi film about a rock man being slightly sinister”

  1. Rich said

    I’ve got District 9 to watch on BluRay tonight..looking forward to it!

    • liveforfilms said

      Nice. one. Let me know what you think of it

      • Rich said

        How good was that film?? Whilst I was watching it, I was struck by how lucky I am to be living in a time when we can create these complete fantasies and make them look so realistic! The aliens were believably done, the weapons were imaginative and shocking, great plotline, lots of parallels to the struggle against apartheid too, loved it! Glad I saw it on BluRay, don’t think anything else would do it justice.

      • liveforfilms said

        Glad you enjoyed it. I thought it was excellent and know exactly what you mean. It looked lovely

Leave a Reply

 
