Live for Films

I've moved to www.liveforfilms.com

Ridley Scott’s Alien prequel to be 3D

Posted by LiveFor on March 5, 2010

Shadow Locked spoke with art-director Roger Christian (art director on Star Wars and Alien) who mentioned some interesting news on Ridley Scott’s Alien film.

“Ridley’s doing the next Alien in 3D,” said Christian.

As we know Ridley Scott is set to return to the franchise for a prequel to his original film. Jon Spaihts is penning the script. The success of Avatar means pretty much everything is going 3D. Martin Scorsese recently said even films like Precious should be in 3D. I’m still not too sure about that, but I do think an Alien film will work in 3D.

“He has a very clear understanding of where this should go,” Christian said of Ridley. “They kind of stopped dead one of the greatest horror franchises there’s ever been, and it had legs to go on. So I’m hoping he’ll revive another three. The world certainly wants it, and the fans want it – everybody.”

Christian, who created the ‘cannibalisation’ technique of using stripped-out WWII bombers to dress SF movie classics Star Wars and Alien, is quite firm about the Alien prequel being in 3D, but less committed about it constituting the start of a new Alien trilogy. But it doesn’t seem reasonable to presume that the ‘trilogy’ comment is completely random. So that’s one rumour confirmed, but another springing up in its place, I guess.

Asked if he would have any involvement in Scott’s new Alien movie, Christian responded:

“I hope so. I actually met Ridley here at the film festival. We had a chat to catch up, and he was going on about how much I’d ‘got it’ on the first one. I guess that’s because of Star Wars, where I had a trained crew with me…and we learnt how to do it. It’s not a technique that’s easy to do – it’s something I’d learnt. So [Scott] kept saying how I was the one responsible, really.”

Source: STYD

One Response to “Ridley Scott’s Alien prequel to be 3D”

  1. Cool. I just hope they don’t fuck it up -none of that Avatar shit, thanks.

Leave a Reply

 
