Live for Films

I've moved to www.liveforfilms.com

Film 2010 – Claudia Winkleman to take over from Jonathan Ross

Posted by LiveFor on March 29, 2010

Claudia Winkleman, she of the fringe that you just want to cut, has been confirmed as the new host of Film 2010. For those not in the know that is the Film review show on BBC 1 here in the UK. Claudia will begin presenting the show from September.

Jonathan Ross is leaving the BBC after the recent shenanigans he got up to. Not only are they getting a new host but the show itself will now involve more studio guests.

Winkleman said “Everyone has an opinion on film and I’m looking forward to debating the biggest news and releases with a whole variety of guests each week. I am completely over the moon about being given this enormous honour and am incredibly proud to be to be presenting the new look Film 2010. It’s an honour to follow on from the brilliant Jonathan Ross.

“I have been lucky enough to cover the BAFTAs and present the UK broadcasts of the Oscars and the Golden Globes for years and now to be able to work with the producers on Film 2010 is just amazing.”

So they are changing the BBC’s premier film show to include more guests and debates therefore making it more akin to a chat show and devaluing what was once a great movie review show. I didn’t always agree with Ross’ reviews, but did enjoy the show. Winkleman is not one of my fave presenters and really don’t think she is the right choice. Mark Kermode was the favourite but looks like he’ll have to wait until next time.

How do you feel about the news? Who would have been a better choice?

Source: BBC

7 Responses to “Film 2010 – Claudia Winkleman to take over from Jonathan Ross”

  1. Jane said

    I’m actually well chuffed that Caludia Winkleman has got the top job. I really enjoy her tongue-in-cheek style and slightly deranged delivery. Obviously, I would have been a better choice but seeing as I haven’t been able to get to the cinema in the last year and have only watched disney reruns on Sky+ I’m not sure that my credentials are quite enough!

    I do share the concern though that there is a plan to mess around with the format of Film 2010. I do think that it is important that it remains a “serious” film review programme.

    • liveforfilms said

      Well Jane, my first thought of new presenter was you, but didn’t think you would be available🙂

      Great to hear from you.

  2. Rich said

    I agree Kermode would have been a much better choice – either the Beeb or Mark himself are not enthusiastic about giving him more exposure!

    • Martin said

      Bring back stuttery Barry Norman. I actually think Claudia will be good, providing she gets better guests than those on Sky’s Oscar broadcast…

  3. Clive said

    Glad to see the Beeb put a girl in the hotseat. That seems to be where most of the forum outrage is coming from, some perception that women don’t know about films. Well, my girlfirend can nerd me under the cinema table and Claudia has obvious enthusiasm (people seem to forget that she has an arts show on Radio2.

  4. pam fruendt said

    hey there…i live in the states…what did ross do??? if it’s a bit nasty send me an email.

Leave a Reply

 
