Live for Films

I've moved to www.liveforfilms.com

Mulholland Drive 2 – A sequel to David Lynch’s classic movie?

Posted by LiveFor on April 11, 2010

Can you believe it was 20 years ago that we got to have some damn fine coffee with Agent Cooper when Twin Peaks began? I lovedthat show and must pick up the second series.

I always love Lynch’s work even when it leaves me feeling totally confused. Inland Empire I am talking to you.

One of my favourite films of his was Mulholland Drive. That was the film that started life as a TV series, but the studios changed their mind and it became a feature film starring Naomi Watts and the lovely brunetter Laura Harring, and yes it did have that scene between the two of them. It also had a little blue box, Billy Ray Cyrus, a cowboy, weird smiling old people and so much more. My fave scene is when Naomi Watts is auditioning for a role – previously when rehearsing for it she was quite wooden but at the audition it is just mind blowing stuff. Go watch that film if you haven’t already and I think I’ll add it to the Live for Films movie club. May even do a poster redesign challenge for it.

Why the reason for this? Well the title of the post give is away.

Laura Harring tells PopcornBiz she met up with Lynch last week and that she believes a follow up to the 2001 classic is going to happen.

“I’m very sure it’s coming, it’s being born,” she said. “I cannot really tell you how I know.”

A suitably cryptic response for something involving Lynch.

If there was a sequel I’m not sure where it would take us and that’s half the fun.

Would you want a sequel to Mulholland Drive? What could happen in it? Where could it begin?

4 Responses to “Mulholland Drive 2 – A sequel to David Lynch’s classic movie?”

  1. Phil said

    SPOILERS FOLLOW… kind of.

    Anyone got any thoughts as to what the film was about? I decided the first half of the film was a dream and the second was the reality. The only thing I’m basing this on is all the jive dancing in the opening credits which have no reference anywhere else except at some point in the second half I think it’s Naomi Watts character that says she won a jitterbug competition which is what got her to Hollywood.

    • liveforfilms said

      Yep. Have to agree with you. think the first half is the idealised world that Watts’ character wishes she could have.

      • Phil said

        I had a friend who said to watch for blue stuff, but I didn’t see the connection and much prefer my simple explanation!

  2. ssg said

    “The only thing I’m basing this on is all the jive dancing in the opening credits which have no reference anywhere else except at some point in the second half I think it’s Naomi Watts character that says she won a jitterbug competition which is what got her to Hollywood…”

    Ah, no, the film within the film is set in the 50’s – we know that because of the few times we’re on the set, so this fifties sequence at the beginning is likely leaking from that universe…

Leave a Reply

 
