Live for Films

I've moved to www.liveforfilms.com

Samuel L Jackson says Nick Fury is not in Thor but Avengers starts shooting next February

Posted by LiveFor on April 20, 2010

While chatting to various people about his new indie film Mother and Child Samuel L Jackson got onto the subject of his work as Nick Fury for Marvel Studios.

He is signed up for nine films as Fury and sounds as if the role will get bigger as the films move on.

“I got started on it when I did the end of Iron Man 1. My foot was on the path. Now, my foot is a little deeper on the path ’cause we’ve got Iron Man 2. I’m not in Thor. I’m supposed to do Captain America this summer in London.”

It is a surprise that he is not in Thor. Even Jackson didn’t know why Fury wouldn’t be featuring.

“I have no idea. I’m not in charge of making those decisions. I thought I was. They said I was in the trades, and I was like, “Oh, I’ve got a job!” And then, I called my agent and she said, “Nah, you’re not in it. They misprinted.” I was like, “Well shit, they need to pay me just ’cause they put my name in it.”

They asked Jackson if he does in fact get to “kick some major ass” in Iron Man 2 and if we will finally get to see his badass Fury in full action? “No, I get to talk really harshly with Robert Downey Jr., but that is about it,” answered Jackson. “So far that’s all I’m doing.”

As for The Avengers how big a role will Fury have in that team film?

“The Avengers is my own starring vehicle for that character, pretty much. That’s not that far away. It’s in February. It’s just February. I’ve got time to get in shape and everything.”

“[He will] shoot somebody,” he said. “I’d like for him to do something eventually.”

“I’m totally looking forward to finally getting Nick Fury into action,” he added.

They finished by asking Jackson if he was happy that Whedon would be directing the The Avengers and if he was excited to be working with him on the project? “Yes I am,” replied Jackson. “I’m looking forward to that.”

Glad to hear that Whedon is definitely on for The Avengers and good to see more Jackson as Fury. Would you want to see a Nick Fury movie?

Source: MovieWeb, Collider

Leave a Reply

 
