Live for Films

I've moved to www.liveforfilms.com

The Rum Diary – Johnny Depp’s new one has been seen

Posted by LiveFor on April 22, 2010

The Rum Diary is another book by Hunter S Thompson that Johnny Depp is starring the filmic adaption…that was a messy sentence. Anway, I have been following the production of the film which also stars Amber Heard, Aaron Eckhart, Giovanni Ribisi and many more.

Last I heard was that it had still not been finished, but now, the delightfully wrong in a good way, Film Drunk have news of a test screening of the film and here is the review their source sent them.

I was approached by the test screener creepers who hang out after flicks, and when he said Rum Diary, I practically snatched the invitation out of his hand. I almost f*cked it up for myself though, saying I was in the industry and they weren’t gonna let me in. But then I told em I’m still but a lowly student in a documentary filmmaking class and busted out my old ID card for good amberheardmeasure, thanking my lucky stars I still hold on to that relic.

The Scoop: It’s not Fear and Loathing, but that’s OK. Depp’s rendition of a younger Hunter has all the familiarity we love, but he’s not familiar with the drugs yet, still just a boozehound, forming his greater ideals. His sidekick this time around is an alright dude [Aaron Eckhart as Sanderson, I believe. -Ed.], no Benicio that’s for damn sure. But it’s Giovanni Ribisi who steals the show*. You see in Ribisi’s degenerate, Nazi sympathizing, junkie state, the beginnings of Hunter/Kemp’s drug aspirations. His every line is quotable and his every appearance is like a surprise mugging – but by cuddly unicorns, which turns out alright in the long run. Lastly, Amber Heard is the mermaid of my dreams, but you can tell the upper brass had a field day in the cutting room, leaving all gratuitous nudity on the floor, being one of the only detriments to the film.

Sounds promising. Looking forward to seeing what they have done with the book.

One Response to “The Rum Diary – Johnny Depp’s new one has been seen”

  1. pam fruendt said

    hunter s. thompson is one of my favorite writers, yet i’ve always felt the rum diary was his weakest work. the first draft we all seem to have doesn’t quite hit the mark, but it is a first draft, after all. i’m going to think positive and hope the powers that be get all their ducks in a row and give us a really good film. and by the way, who has the final script? i can’t locate it and i’ve been looking.

Leave a Reply

 
