Live for Films

I've moved to www.liveforfilms.com

Posts Tagged ‘Patricia Cornwell’

Serena – Angelina Jolie and Darren Aronofsky may team up for thriller in the woods

Posted by LiveFor on March 1, 2010

Angelina Jolie and Darren Aronofsky are in talks to adapt Ron Rash’s 2008 period book – Serena: A Novel according to THR.

The story is set in the rugged mountains of 1929 North Carolina and follows a man named George Pemberton and his new bride, Serena, as they create a timber empire. Serena not only takes to the woods, but she also pushes her husband to commit more and more ruthless acts. When she learns she cannot bear a child, Serena sets out to murder the son her husband fathered illegitimately.

Sounds like a nice, cheerful tale! Joking aside, it is one of those stories that actors loves as it gives them a chance to go all out and do a great performance.

Jolie is currently filming The Tourist with Johnny Depp. She had dropped out of Wanted 2, which had supposedly killed the sequel although Universal are saying it is still go (not that difficult to continue without Jolie considering the fate of her character in the first on). She was meant to have signed up for the Alfonso Cuaron sci-fi film Gravity, but there are conflicting reports on whether she actually has and there is the old news that she was looking to star in an adaption of Patricia Cornwell’s Kay Scarpetta novels.

What that all means is that I haven’t got a Scooby Doo about what she will be filming once The Tourist wraps up. Out of all of them I would like to see her star in Gravity, but if reports are true that she is no longer attached to that then Serena would be a good one to see.
Aronofsky has just finished filming Black Swan starring Natalie Portman and Mila Kunis so Serena could be his next one.
Which one of the rumoured projects would you like to see Jolie star in next? If it is Serena what actor would you like to see star opposite her?

Posted in Book, Film, news, Thriller | Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment »

Angelina Jolie to be Patricia Cornwell’s Dr Kay Scarpetta

Posted by LiveFor on April 22, 2009

Fox 2000 is acquiring screen rights to Patricia Cornwell’s bestselling book series on medical examiner Dr. Kay Scarpetta, to develop as a vehicle for Angelina Jolie.

There are 16 Scarpetta novels, meaning a franchise is hoped for, but this film won’t be tied to a specific Cornwell mystery title. Much the way that Jason Bourne morphed into an action hero in plots not rigidly locked into the Robert Ludlum book series, the opera-loving coroner Scarpetta will be the lead in a suspense thriller in the vein of “The Silence of the Lambs” and “Seven.”

According to Variety the deal is a mega-marriage, with Jolie one of the most bankable female movie stars, and Cornwell one of the biggest selling female authors in the world. Cornwell, whose latest installment “Scarpetta” was published last December by Putnam, last year made a deal with Lifetime Television to adapt two non-Scarpetta novels, “At Risk” and “The Front.”

Once Jolie sparked to the series, months of negotiations followed between ICM and Fox 2000’s Elizabeth Gabler and Carla Hacken, because Cornwell was so protective of her literary property. The deal finally came together after Jolie and Kosinski met with the author and found common ground on the creative direction of the feature adaptation.

Jolie is starring in the Phillip Noyce-directed “Salt” for Columbia Pictures. She will reprise the voice for her Tigress character in “Kung Fu Panda” sequel and she awaits a script for a “Wanted” sequel that would potentially re-team her with director Timur Bekmambetov and James McAvoy at Universal. It will be interesting to see how they bring back her character in that sequel.

I’ve never read any Patricia Cornwell. If you have would they make a good film? Could it work as a new franchise?

Leave a comment on this post below.

Posted in Action, Book, Film, news, Thriller | Tagged: , , , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »