Live for Films

I've moved to www.liveforfilms.com

Nina Jacobson talks sci-fi – The Hunger Games and The Dominion

Posted by LiveFor on March 16, 2010

Producer Nina Jacobson has been talking to ComingSoon about some cool sounding Sci-Fi films she is working on.

The Hunger Games – Katniss is a 16-year-old girl living with her mother and younger sister in the poorest district of Panem, the remains of what used be the United States. Long ago the districts waged war on the Capitol and were defeated. As part of the surrender terms, each district agreed to send one boy and one girl to appear in an annual televised event called, “The Hunger Games.” The terrain, rules, and level of audience participation may change but one thing is constant: kill or be killed. When her sister is chosen by lottery, Katniss steps up to go in her place.

“The author (Suzanne Collins) is adapting it herself and she is writing away as we speak so I’m very excited about that.” said Jacobson.

Lionsgate is targeting a 2011 release for the film. “[The studio] has been incredibly gonzo about having the movie. We’re getting the script in and our goal is we hope to attach a director late spring and make the movie in the fall for release anytime fall ’11 or later. But that’s if everything goes perfectly on the script. If we take more time on the script, we’ll just go a little bit later. But our hope is to be making this movie in the fall,” she explained.

Check out The Hunger Games site.

The Dominion – A sci-fi thriller which centers on a human who is chosen to command an army’s first-ever platoon of robotic soldiers.

“It’s a great really interesting subject matter,” said Jacobson. “It’s been very educational for me actually to learn all about military robotics. My writer’s actually about to turn the script in to the studio in the next couple of days and hopefully we’ll start looking for directors soon.”

Both of those films sound excellent. I’ll keep you posted on their development.

6 Responses to “Nina Jacobson talks sci-fi – The Hunger Games and The Dominion”

  1. brittany r said

    what about auditions? I know you get asked this question alot but at the moment i am between agents so i can’t get any info about the hunger games auditions. Please do an audition tour or something email me back and give me a shot. I was trained in acting basics and do several plays. please help.

  2. Hannah Bee said

    I thought this book was truly amazing! We did it as a book study in class. Almost everyone in my class who read it has said that I look exactly how they picture Katniss. I am an actress, and I am in the process of getting an agent, but I think by the time I have an agent I’ll be to late for the Hunger Games. It is my dream to play Katniss!!Even if I can’t play Katniss I’ll be happy for whoever plays her…just as long as she is not overly-famous because I believe that will wreck the movie. Please contact me, if you have any information on the auditions for the hunger games🙂

    Looove Hannah

  3. Courtney Wayland said

    Hello! My Names Courtney! Im So Glad To Hear the Games will be put into a movie! Ive been acting for a while and have gotten a lead role in my middle school and high school plays. Im not big on playing the Big Part of Katniss but Of Foxface! I’d love to play Foxface and get a hold of an audition! Im Hoping you will do an audition tour getting to find people around the U.S.!! Please, Please Contact me For any further notice! I’d Love to come do an auditon! Please Contact!🙂
    Thanks!
    ~Court

  4. Isha Sharma said

    Hi, along with everyone else on this page, i too am extremely excited to see The Hunger Games as a movie, and it would be a chance of a life time for average girls like me to have a chance to audition. I have had previous training and experiance (only in school plays though). I am considering an agent, and this truly is my dream. Obviously there can only be one Katniss, but it would make it a great film if there was someone knew for some of the casts. Please consider (and possibly contact me) an open audition/ an audition tour. I live up north so it would be crazy cool if you guys came to canada (just a thought).

    Regards,
    Isha

  5. Messa said

    Hey ppl, as everyone else, I want there to be open auditons. PLEASE!!!!!!!!!This would be a great way to spend less money since these would be inexperienced actors. I think there should be an audition tour(no agent required, just first 50 to show up or something), and 1 audition in every state, that wasn’t a staruday because some ppl go 2 church on Saturdays and aren’t allowed to leave the house:) just a thought. Also, if open auditons aren’t possible, could we at least recieve info on the movie for those of us who bothered to reply? thnx! cnt wait 4 the hunger games movie!

  6. the unseen one said

    AAHHHHHHHHH omg i love the hunger games sooo much my sister says that i am obsessive (probably not a good thing but oh well :D)
    i would LOVE so much to audition for katniss BUT *cry* i live in england so it would be impossible for me to audition and also i am 13 but i really don’t look it
    i am a bit of a ninja with a bow and arrows (i never miss!) i an get up at least 20ft in a tree in under 15 seconds. i love climbng trees so much seriously give me any tree and i will climb it🙂 i am also an army cadet and i am very very good at hiding (if i hide from you i guarentee that you will never find me
    i have long brown hair and greeny grey eyes and i am extremely skinny but quite tall

    so any news on auditions would be awesome cuz don’t think just cuz i live in the UK i will give up!!!

Leave a Reply

 
